Heavenly by Jennifer Laurens Review

Image

Heavenly by Jennifer Laurens | Published June 1st 2009 by Grove Creek Publishing

Excerpt from Goodreads

I met someone who changed everything. Matthias. My autistic sister’s guardian angel. Honest. Inspiring. Funny. Hot. And immortal. That was the problem. What could I do? I did what any other girl would do-I fell in love with him. Zoe’s sister darts in front of cars. Her brother’s a pothead. Her parents are so overwhelmed; they don’t see Zoe lost in her broken life. Zoe escapes the only way she knows how: partying. Matthias, a guardian sent from Heaven, watches over Zoe’s autistic sister. After Zoe is convinced he’s legit, angel and lost girl come together in a love that changes destiny. But Heaven on Earth can’t last forever.

My Review:
Heavenly is a book written by Jennifer Laurens, first in her Heavenly series. A paranormal young adult book, it’s told from Zoe’s point of view, how she experiences her life. She has an autistic sister and a brother who is addicted to weed. Her father and mother are worn thin with the care of her sister Abria, who has a tendency to run away. But Zoe is not an angel, far from it. She drinks. A lot. And she is very promiscuous. Mostly to forget about her problems. And then one day, she meets her sister’s guardian and it changes her life…

My opinion:
I liked the story, liked where it was going. It’s not about a girl who is superbly in touch with her inner self, strong and all the shebang. It shows how “weak” we can be. To me it showed the struggle a teen can have, even if she acts all strong and independent. I liked the angel story line and I just LOVED the twist!! Trying not to give away any spoilers here, so sorry if I’m vague. I can also say I like what I have “seen” from this author. She seems to write what she knows about and I would like to read more of her stuff.

My advice:
*** read it. And let your teenager read it. Gives you both something to talk about. The three stars is more my personal opinion, I felt a little “old” for this book, but it was a fun read.

happy reading deb s 2

P.s. My view of Matthias 😉

 matthias

Leave a Reply

