Review: Remembering Love by Nadine Christian

Banyan Tree in Thomas Edison Garden at Fort Myers Florida USARemembering Love by Nadine Christian | Published February 1st 2013 by Eternal Press

Blurb from Goodreads:

When her beloved foster parents pass away, Holly discovers a past both shocking and heartbreaking: the murder/suicide of her biological parents on the South Pacific island of Pitcairn, famous for the HMAV Bounty mutineers. Travelling to a home she does not remember, Holly reconnects with long-lost childhood friend Jack. An old friendship quickly becomes more…until a dark secret is uncovered.

Will joyous love remembered become heartbreak? Can she find out the truth before someone else is hurt?

Review:
Before I start, I want to do a shout out to every author out there: Please, keep on writing and keep on trying to amaze us. You might not amaze everyone of course, but never ever give up!

Next I want to thank Nadine Christian for sending us this book. I was totally amazed! But more than that, I was touched. She opened up a new world for me. Really, I did not even know a place like Pitcairn Island (pron.: /ˈpɪtkɛərn/; Pitkern: Pitkern Ailen) existed. They say write what you know and that is exactly what she did. I could almost reach for that little island with the amazing view and the town so small the offices don’t have to open every day. It even sounds romantic that there is no electricity sometimes haha! But I bet the stars are amazing at night, aren’t they? Please answer me this dear author?

One of the places in the book

One of the places in the book

Ok let me stop gushing before you all might think I am in love with the author! But I did love her book. Except for the amazing new place I just got introduced to, it was a really good story. It was a story about love. What it can bring forth, good and bad. Sadly bad is there too.
I loved the main characters and their love story was unique and still familiar at the same time. It could’ve been cliche, but the story made sure it wasn’t. It also was about something that happens way too often in real life and I hope this story will encourage you to never close your eyes if you see this happening or worse, add to the misery. And if you are in this situation yourself, please, you are worth so much more than that! Know that!
Miss Christian managed to touch a lot of bases in her book and I loved it. It started out  a little slow, but not too much. But when it takes off, it grips you like an eagle and makes you soar up high and take those dives that bring tears to your eyes and that feeling in your stomach? Yeah, that is the author dragging you through the feelings of the characters.
When I started this book I had so many obligations that I could not start the right way, picking at a page here and there – wait, maybe that’s why it seemed slow? – but just about two hours ago, I took to my bed for a nap, thinking I would read a few pages and I just devoured it! And I had to get up and write this review, because it was worth it. It needed to be written.

Well that’s all I can say without giving away too much of the story.

Rating: 4.5 Stars

What are you still sitting around for? Go buy the book and get to know this place and these people!!

happy reading deb s 2

Leave a Reply

