Review: The Modeliser by Havana Adams

17735536Title: The Modeliser
Author: Havana Adams 
Published: May 26, 2013

Blurb from Goodreads:

When Hollywood bad-boy and legendary womanizer Alex Golden’s beloved grandfather dies he returns to London, and is thrown into the path of the women from his past. There is ex-lover Tamara, a super-bitch actress who never lets anything get in her way: until she falls head over heels in love with a Russian billionaire, that is. Then we have Alex’s sister, Helena, who dreams of stepping out from her family’s shadow and carving out a 
career as a photographer. And finally there is Talia, Helena’s best friend, whose hopes for a career writing for the big screen are dashed when she is unfairly fired from her job in the script department on a successful soap. 

Alex’s fate is caught up with these three women as ambition, lust and love collide against the drama-fuelled backdrop of the film world. . .

Review:
I won this ARC in a giveaway and I must say it was very different then I am used to. Of course it’s a love story and a good one written at that, but I just ate up the Hollywood-ness, the stardom, everything around it. It really read more like a movie if I have to be honest.
The blurb from Goodreads says it all, but I liked the style how it was written. You did not only see one story, but a few. The writer was not afraid to show the flaws of the character and I liked that. The “backdrop” of the story was also very nice. A magazine editor, a screenwriter, an actor, actress, even a billionaire was thrown into the mix! But they still compliment the storyline.

I do have to point out that I did receive it as an ARC, so I read over the mistakes made, but as it is published the moment I am writing this, I think the kinks are worked out. Also want to point out that I was not asked to do a review, but because I really liked the book, I decided to review it. I am keeping an eye on this author and her next book!

Rating:
3 star  I think this is a book you can try. Light reading and well thought out

happy reading deb s 2

Leave a Reply

