We Review: The Mine by John A. Heldt

13492200

Title: The Mine (Northwest Passage)
Author: John A. Heldt 
Published: February 12, 2012 

Blurb from Goodreads :

In May 2000, Joel Smith is a cocky, adventurous young man who sees the world as his playground. But when the college senior, days from graduation, enters an abandoned Montana mine, he discovers the price of reckless curiosity. He emerges in May 1941 with a cell phone he can’t use, money he can’t spend, and little but his wits to guide his way. Stuck in the age of Whirlaway, swing dancing, and a peacetime draft, Joel begins a new life as the nation drifts toward war. With the help of his 21-year-old trailblazing grandmother and her friends, he finds his place in a world he knew only from movies and books. But when an opportunity comes to return to the present, Joel must decide whether to leave his new love in the past or choose a course that will alter their lives forever. THE MINE is a love story that follows a humbled man through a critical time in history as he adjusts to new surroundings and wrestles with the knowledge of things to come.

We were contacted by the author for an open and honest review of his book.

Review by Deb S.

Sometimes things just come together, have you ever experienced that? So I was on Amazon (like I am almost every day) ogling those pretty books, when I buy The Mine (among other things) and a few days later we get a mail from the author, asking us if we know his book and want to review it. What does any self respecting book junkie say then? Yes of course!
So at first I thought this book would be a little like Stephen King’s Langoliers. I don’t know why, but I really thought there were going to be aliens. Silly me right? Well color me surprised! This book doesn’t even have the “normal” aliens, but it has something better!!! Time travel!!
It was a very relaxed read. To me it had this familiar pace to it, without being boring. I don’t know how to describe it. The story doesn’t have a breakneck speed to it, but it still carries you and keeps you interested. I liked that. Sometimes you read books that get your adrenaline pumping, but this is more like Humphrey Bogart, Singing in the Rain (but with time travel), Imitation of Life. You know that feeling you get watching old movies? I loved it! So yeah, maybe it’s not for everyone, but give it a chance. I really enjoyed the book, the description of the times, the way people lived. Ok so not all people. But I really truly loved the way the author brought the forties to life. Either he’s lived it or he is a very old soul. But he’s also someone who did his homework.

I liked the main characters, liked that he met his grandmother and got to know a different side of her. This part had me thinking something that I can’t give away just yet, but I was wondering something along the lines of old and new “meet” in the future. Drop me a line if you want to discuss that.
Ok back to the main characters: I love the development Joel is going through, although I think he should’ve had it a little harder to come to how he eventually ended up being. But he turned out the better for it. His grandma, well… I was a little disappointed but it was a well thought out character development as well. I really liked Katie and the way she turned out. And I loooved the little surprise at the end. Although I did root for that one.

If I had to change one thing about this book? I think it might be the cover. Although it does kind of work, so let’s not visit that question again, ok? But all in all, a very well written, well thought out book.

Review by Deb T. 

We were contacted by the author to review his book and little did I know I had also already “purchased” this book through amazon. (OK it was a freebie at that time). I do have to admit, unlike my partner in reading crime (a.k.a Deb S), I had a harder time getting into the book. There was nothing wrong with the story or the way it was written, wasn’t boring at all in any way, I just had a hard time getting through the book. It just felt a little “long” to me. As I did get towards the end of the book I started to like the book more and more.

I of course don’t have to tell you that this book has a time travel element to it, especially if you read the blurb of the book. I did like the main characters especially the friendship that Joel had created with the other characters in the book. Especially the one with his younger grandmother Ginny. I would have, however liked to have seen some more interaction between them. I also loved the relationship that formed between him and Grace. And I do have to admit Katie was my most favorite character of the book. The ending…I looved the ending very much and am definitely looking forward to the follow up book I heard is coming soon! If you like indie books and want a nice calm, relaxing read, I would certainly check this book out.

Rating: 3 star

 

 

debdebs

 

One thought on “We Review: The Mine by John A. Heldt

Leave a Reply

