Blog Tour: Gold Manor Ghost House by Merry Brown

MEDIA KIT Book Cover

Anna thought life was going to be awesome.  She was right…and wrong.

Won her dream job acting in a hit TV series.  Check.

Working with her best friend.  Check.

The set’s haunted and she’s in the middle of a supernatural war.  Uh, check?

Anna Rose Ellington is sixteen and living in Hollywood, hoping to be a star. Anna just landed a major role on Ghost House, TeenTV’s new fall drama.  A show promising to be so hot, Meg Sweet (the reigning teenage diva), signed on for the lead, and Adam Lewis (international rock sensation) is a principal player.

Her dreams are falling into place until she gets on set and begins questioning her sanity.  It’s true she has an unusual dream life, where once in a while her dreams literally come true.  But it’s been a while.  On top of her dreams not staying put in her brain, including the guy she’d been dreaming of for years, the house they’re filming in, Gold Manor, might actually be haunted.  But that’s the least of her worries.

excerpt

“And now for that special musical treat I was telling you about.  As your dessert comes around, our very own Adam Lewis is going to play the latest single with his bandmate, Ewin, from F&L.”

Adam got up on stage and the lead singer appeared from the shadows.  As he got in position, he took off his jersey, put on his leather jacket and strapped a guitar around his shoulder.

As I was saying no to the piece of fried cheesecake, my eyes rested on the pair singing, “The Only One.”

It took a moment for my brain to register what was before me.   I saw clearly, but couldn’t believe.  I was looking at the impossible.

On stage, playing guitar and singing back-up vocals to Ewin Larkin was Leather Jacket Guy.

Leather Jacket Guy was Adam Lewis!

My mind froze as my fork slipped out of my hand and clanged to the floor.  The noise caught the attention of Adam and Ewin.  In mid strum Adam stopped playing.  He threw his guitar to the floor, his face filled with panic.

“Anna, get out of here now.  Get Out!” he shouted.

Interview with the author:

What inspired the author to write this book?

I wrote my first book, The Knowers, because I wanted to write a love story for my boys.  Gold Manor Ghost House came about because I enjoyed the process of creating and writing.  I usually have an idea where the story is going, sit down to write it, and bam!  I’m hit with a twist or direction I didn’t see coming, or a new character joins the narrative.   Many times writing feels like opening presents on my birthday.

Specifically, Gold Manor Ghost House came out of what my boys were up to.  They watch Disney and Nick shows, and I thought it would be interesting to have a story about the people who were on a major series, where the making of the show is only the back drop to what’s really going on.  Unlike what my kids watch, I wanted to write a story that was mysterious, romantic, and dangerous.  I believe Gold Manor Ghost House is just that!

Since what age has Merry been writing?

In high school (late 90’s) I wrote pages and pages of poetry, yet it wasn’t until 2009 that I began to write seriously.  In fact, I began writing because I was under the impression (faulty impression) that one could not both eat and write.  Turns out those two activities aren’t mutually exclusive.

Though I’m relatively new at writing, I can’t imagine not doing it.  Writing is a joy, and I don’t have the words to describe the feeling I get when someone loves one of by books.

Right now I’m writing a sequel to The Knowers, called The Second Fall.  I have to fight the urge to talk to people about that’s happening in that world, because it’s part of my world right now.  Those characters and their concerns are real to me in a way I would not have imagined before I began this journey into writing.

What is Merry’s favorite genre of book to read and/or write?

They are one and the same: YA paranormal and dystopian romances.  The books I’ve written, thus far, are paranormal, though I have an idea for a dystopian book I’m looking forward to getting to in a few years. I teach philosophy, and my favorite philosopher to read is Plato.  Whenever I’m reading and teaching a Platonic dialogue, I wonder why I’m reading anything else.That being said, I love a good, clean, drama-filled story, and YA doesn’t fail to deliver!

About_Author_001

MEDIA KIT Author PhotoBorn and raised in Bakersfield, California, Merry Brown now lives in the northwest corner of Tennessee with her husband, three boys, and Daisy the cat. She teaches philosophy at the University of Tennessee, Martin, where she counts it a great privilege and joy to introduce students to perennial questions about the nature of the universe, meaning, morality, and the human condition. Merry Brown’s love of philosophy and young adult paranormal and dystopian literature inspired her to write THE KNOWERS, the first book in the Exiled Trilogy. GOLD MANOR GOLD HOUSE is her latest YA paranormal romance book.

4 thoughts on “Blog Tour: Gold Manor Ghost House by Merry Brown

Leave a Reply

