We Review: Between Friends by Amanda Cowen

between friendsTitle: Between Friends
Author: Amanda Cowen
Published: March 22, 2013

From GoodReads

The only way to have a friend is to be one…especially between the sheets…

When neurotically challenged and unlucky in love Megan Daniels, is propositioned by her life-long friend Ben Romano with a coin toss (heads, they sleep together, tails they don’t) the night before they are about to attend a destination wedding, she drunkenly accepts his challenge. But when Megan wakes up the next morning with a bad hang-over and Ben in her bed, she is more than mortified. It isn’t until the tropical heat begins to ignite emotions Megan never ever believed she could possibly have, that she starts to question if risking their friendship is the answer to finding true love.

We Review:

Deb T:

Ben and Megan have been best friends since they can remember. One crazy night, before they are about to leave for Jessica’s wedding (Megan’s best friend), after a wild coin toss bet, they end up in bed and Megan starts wondering if their one night stand was meaningless or if she and Ben could turn into something more.

I loved the chemistry Meg and Ben had throughout the book, even though I did sometimes want to slap some sense into Megan and tell her to just let go and take Ben for what he is. The story was kind of predictable. but had enough twists and turns that I sometimes never wanted to put the book down. The sex scenes has just enough steam to them and it definitely made me want a guy like Ben in my life.  A great book to end the summer with!!

Rating: 4 star

Deb S:

It finally happened; I did not like a story Deb T liked. The horror!!!

But ok, back to the book. It was not really a bad book, I just did not like the characters. I hate vapoid friends. What’s vapoid? Yes, I know it’s a non-existing word, but it’s my word for bad friends, airheads, you know vapor in their heads!
And that was how these so called friends were. I liked Megan well enough, but who hangs out with friends who are seriously in need of some therapy. There was not one healthy relationship between them. You have the bride from hell, who made me wonder how the hell she had a steady relationship for so long. And the other girls just drank and slept around. I just could not like them. The guys were no better. And that was just the things that bothered me. But then again, you might like the drama and the vapor. Megan was a little shallow too. She knew what she was getting into and then she acted all hurt? Pfft. Sorry for me this book was a no no. Just because of the characters. BUT! The writer is great to be able to provoke such strong feelings in me. I just hope that was what she was going for.

Rating: 2 star

debdebs

Leave a Reply

